Testimonies I Wish I’d Given

Like a number of people I know, there was a fairly long period where I had stopped believing in the Mormon church but continued to attend. During that time there were a few occasions where I just held my tongue rather than respond to people saying nasty or silly things. I’m not sure whether, if I could go back in time, I would have bothered to do anything differently. In my mind, knocking down people’s views in an establishment meant for those who share them seems like something of a grey area. Should I have interrupted priesthood lessons to explain to people why evolution is true? Should I have tried to pursuade a close friend not to go on a two year stint as a missionary? Would it have been more principled to stand up to the vile words about other people in society (thankfully, a pretty rare occurance anyway)?

Sadly enough, this is something I still reflect on even though my involvment with the church has been over for years. Even sadder, I sometimes fantasise about taking the stand in a testimony meeting, and letting loose a biting/angry/witty tirade, which would doubtlessly produce nothing but embarassment for all involved. I’m never even likely to skirt close to the opportunity of doing so, but for some reason the fantasy is still a therapeutic one. I thought I would share an example of the inner monologue I run through when the mood takes me.

Dear Brothers and Sisters

You know, I used to be a skeptical kind of guy. I saw the explanatory power of science, the ability for it to elevate our standard of living and explain the things around us, and I thought, what need do I have for God? But listening to the lessons you have taught me, and hearing your testimonies about God’s intervention in your lives… it’s been a revelation. Who’d have thought that, in spite of seeming not to give a care about the countless deaths of starving children around the world, the creator of our universe took the time to make sure that the money you were due for some job you did made it to you in time to meet your bills? Who’d have thought that, in spite of the rape, mutilation and maltreatment of girls and women in underpriveleged societies, God cares enough about each of us personally that he made sure you passed that important exam (clearly that can’t be a mere product of the effort or time that you put into your studies)? Who’d have thought that, in spite of those millions who die of easily treatable diseases around the world, God saw fit to intervene and made sure that the cold your kid was suffering went away, and after a few days no less?

Yes, brothers and sisters, I have seen the light. Forget about the mountains of scientific evidence that render your worldviews implausable. Forget any sense of incredulity that a 14/16/17 year old boy was the first to be really sincere about knowing the truth about God since the death of Jesus, despite the centuries of scrambling by seemingly rather interested theologians. Forget the fact that Mormonism’s origins are sufficiently near in our history to be able to see the flaws and deceptions that pollute its claim of divinity.

After all, who needs reason when you can have faith?

In the name of jewish carpenters, amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Testimonies I Wish I’d Given

  1. cocacolafiend says:

    Noone would hear you over the bawling kids anyway.

Leave a comment